Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


Nobel Prize Winners in Physics

Arun Agarwal (Author)
Synopsis The beginning of the 20th century was also the beginning of the functioning of Nobel Foundation created to carry out Dr. Alfred Nobel’s sixty eight of the world’s most distinguished Physicist received award for outstanding discoveries and achievements in Physics, every year except for 1916, 1931, 1934, 1940, 1941 and 1942. The names of some of these are widely known outside scientific circles while those of the majority not at all. By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will, the “Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences” is awarding the Nobel prizes in Physics since 1901. The Novel Committee at the Academy is responsible for the selection of candidates among nominees. The book comprises of five parts viz. Part 1. Part 2, Part 3, Part 4 and Part 5. Briefly, the plan of the book is this, Part 1 opens up with the portrait of the man behind the awards that is Alfred Bermhard Nobel and his biographical Sketch. Then an article “Nobel Prize” starts in which, the Introduction, Nobel Foundation, Prize, Selection of Prize Winners, Prize Ceremonies are mentioned. After that Nobel Medals, Nobel Diplomas and Nobel Prize Amounts are described in brief. In the end of part 1, list of all 168 Nobel Prize winners are given which includes the prize-awarding year and prize-winning work. Then a short account of the Laureates’ life and work, which is followed by a historical and explanatory introduction to the particular discovery or achievement which gained him the prize, with the laureates’ photographs in four different parts are given as: Part 2: From Year 1901 – Year 1936; Part 3: From Year 1937 – Year 1964; Part 4: From Year 1965 – Year 1984; Part 5: From Year 1985 – Year 2002. Although the present efforts shows only some of the peaks and by no means a complete history of twentieth century Physics. It helps the readers to find the way to their goals from the inspiring examples of previous achievements.
Read more
39.60 35.64 $ 44.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Arun Agarwal

Arun Agarwal, M.Sc., Doctoral Student, at present doing research in the department of Applied Chemistry, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh (India). He did his B.Sc. (hons.) in 2000 and M.Sc. in 2002 from Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh (India). Besides research his main interest is to collect the information about Scientists in general and about Nobel Laureates of all six fields in particular. His book entitled “Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry: 1901-2002” was published in 2003 by APH Publishing Corporation, New Delhi, India.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Nobel Prize Winners in Physics
Author Arun Agarwal
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.2005
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 8176487430
length x+331p., Tables; Figures; Plates; 23cm.