Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


Women's Struggle: A History of the All India Women's Conference 1927-2002

Bharati Ray (Author) Aparna Basu (Author)

The All India Women’s Conference completes seventy-five years in 2002. Little work has been done on the contributions of women’s organizations to women’s development in India. The first edition of this book was published in 1990. This revised edition brings the story right up to the present and makes a detailed study of the history of AIWC and its multifarious activities. Founded in 1927, at the initiative of Margaret Cousins, the first session of the conference was held in Pune. It brought together women of different regions, religions and castes. Among the pioneers who shaped the organization were Sarojini Naidu, Kamaladevi Chattopadhyaya, Muthulakshmi Reddy, Lakshmi Menon, Renuka Ray, Raj Kumari Amrit Kaur, Hansa Mehta and Vijayalakshmi Pandit. The book focuses on the efforts of AIWC in the fields of education, social legislation and social reform. It also outlines the various socio-economic programmes and other activities undertaken by the nearly 500 branches of AIWC stretching all the way from Kerala to Jammu & Kashmir and from Goa to Tripura and Manipur. It examines the changing nature of these programmes and how far the conference has been able to respond to the needs of Indian women through the years. It also deals with the involvement of AIWC in the United Nations, its affiliated agencies and other international organizations. The younger generation may not be fully aware of the historical roots of the Indian women’s movement in India. This study sheds light on this important aspect and seeks to bring about a realization that AIWC is their heritage bequeathed to them by the pioneers who strove to build up".

Read more
Not available
Out of stock

Notify me when the book will be in stock

Members SAVE 10% every day
About the authors

Bharati Ray

Bharati Ray taught History at Calcutta University and was Pro-Vice-Chancellor there from 1988 to 1995. She was Founder-Director of the Women's Studies Research Centre at the university and is currently Honorary Professor and Member, Peace Research Group, Department of History, Calcutta University, and Editorial Fellow of PHISPC. She is a bilingual author and has numerous books, both authored and edited, to her credit. Some of her Pramountcy (1988); Detecting Disadvantages: A Pilot Study of Scheduled Caste Women in Two Districts of West Bengal (1994_; Early Feminists in Colonial Bengal: Sarala Devi Chaudhurani and Begum Rokeya Sakhawat Hassain (2002); Women's Struggle: A History of the All Indian Women's Conference 1927-1990, jointly authored with Aparna Basu (1990-2002); From the Seams of History: Essays on Women in Colonial India, ed.(1995); From Independence toward Freedom: Indian Women Since 1947. co-ed. (1999); Women and Politics: France, India and Russia, ed. (2000) and Politics and Identity in South Asia, jointly edited with David Taylor (2002). She has also compiled and edited two volumes of articles published in the earliest women's journal in Bengal,Bamabodhini Patrika, 1863-1922. She was a Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha), 1996-2002, and a member of the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the Empowerment of Women. Married with three children, Bharati Ray is fond of reading, writing, listening to music, watching plays, cooking and travelling. She loves the company of children and is currently President of the Children's Little Theatre, Kolkata.

Read more

Aparna Basu

Aparna Basu is a scientist working with NISTADS.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Women's Struggle: A History of the All India Women's Conference 1927-2002
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.2003
Edition Reprint
Language: English
isbn 8173044767
length 247p., Illustrations; Appendices; BIbliography; Index; 23cm.