Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


The Absence Trilogy: And Quiet Rolls the Dawn

Mrinal Sen (Author)
Synopsis Mrinal Sen's films Ekdin Pratidin, Kharij and Ekdin Achanak, considered amongst his best works, are sensitive portrayals of the middle-class psyche. Although not strictly forming a trilogy, having been produced years apart, each in its own way deals centrally with the idea of absence: the sudden absence of one member of a unit, exposing the absence of certain values, and leading to a qualitative change in relationships and attitudes amongst those left behind. A thoughtful and discursive introductory essay explores this common thread that runs through the structure of these three very different films. This volume contains shot-by-shot reconstructions post-production filmscripts—of all three films, as well as a comprehensive introductory essay which reads them from the point of view of ‘absence’ and its impact on the present and future of the people involved. The volume is profusely illustrated with black-and-white reproductions of scenes from the films.
Read more
13.50 12.15 $ 15.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 2-4 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Mrinal Sen

Mrinal Sen (b. 1923) made his first feature film in the 1950s; he has since made twenty-eight features, four documentaries and several telefilms. He is a veteran of all the major national and international film festivals, as participant, award winner and member of the Jury.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title The Absence Trilogy: And Quiet Rolls the Dawn
Author Mrinal Sen
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.1999
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 8170460956
length 203p., Plates.