Logo

0
Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Delivery Worldwide on orders over $50

Х

Something Black in the Lentil Soup

 
Reshma S. Ruia (Author)
Synopsis Kavi Naidu is a great poet in the tradition of Wordsworth and Shelley. (Well he thinks so anyway.) Pompous, sentimental and in search of literary fame and romantic glory, he is suddenly catapulted from the sleepy humdrum routine of life in Delhi to the heady distractions of London. Urged on by his mother, whose ambition is way out of proportion to her diminutive size, Kavi sets out to win the prestigious Commonwealth Poetry Prize. As soon as he arrives in London for the competition, Kavi is beset by people who bewilder him: the singular owner of his hotel, some oh-so-typical English aristocrats, a red-haired Australian girl with a penchant for mini kilts, a Roman Catholic priest, a Tongan poet and many others. And then there is the suave and enigmatic Seth, a distinguished man of letters, India's most celebrated literary gent and Kavi's nemesis for many years. Resolutely refusing to see the pitfalls awaiting him, Kavi stumbles from muddle to faux pas to disaster. Reshma S. Ruia's warm, sly humour and sharp eye for human failings brings Kavi and all those around him vividly to life in this entertaining tale of an innocent abroad.
Read more
22.50 20.25 $ 25.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
BECOME A MEMBER
About the author

Reshma S. Ruia

Reshma S. Ruia is somewhat of a cultural hybrid. She was born in India, brought up in Italy and educated at the London School of Economics. She came to writing indirectly after a career as an economist with the United Nations. She lives in Manchester with her family.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total
 

Bibliographic information

Title Something Black in the Lentil Soup
Format Softcover
Date published: 01.01.2004
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 143032356
length 252p.