Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


Shorter Philosophical Poems of Narayana Guru

Swami Muni Narayana Prasad (Author)
Synopsis The work collects Narayana Gurus most important shorter philosophic poems into one volume.  They are respectively, the Brahmavidya Pancakam (Science of the Absolute), Advaita Dipika (Lamp of Non-Duality), Arivu (Consiousness Examined), Homa Mantram (Fire Oblation) and Daiva Dasakam (Ten Verses Addressing God).   The verses are rendered into English and commented upon extensively by Swami Muni Narayana Prasad.  Alongside the Gurus Atmopadesa Satakam (One Hundred Verses of Self-Instruction) and the Darsana Mala (Garland of Visions), these poems are intended to transmit the wisdom of the Upanisads to the earnest seeker of the modern age.  As a rsi of the modern age, Narayana Guru deals with issues pertinent today, including how social ethics and other contemporary problems are to be treated in light of the Absolute.  As such, the Gurus poems may be said to be both ancient and modern at the same time.

Each poem contained in this book may be said to deal with a specific philosophical problem or a set of problems that may be encountered in the search for the Absolute.  Each problem is consistently answered in light of the Absolute.  Such elucidations include the prerequisites of both a true seeker and a true guru, the nature of the rapport to be established between each and how the Absolute is sat, cit and ananda together.  Other elucidations include the ultimate nature of Reality examined in terms of Consciousness, how Vedic ritual may be understood properly so that it may lead one to the highest realm of non-dual wisdom and how to pray to God in the Absolutist sense.
Read more
22.50 20.25 $ 25.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Swami Muni Narayana Prasad

Swami Muni Narayana Prasad is the Guru and Head of the famous Narayana Gurukula, a guru-disciple foundation set up by Nataraja Guru, the disciple-successor of Narayana Guru. A disciple of Nataraja Guru, who initiated him as a renunciate in 1984, Swami Muni Narayana Prasad has travelled round the world teaching Indian philosophy, with special emphasis on the Upanishads. He has been associated with the philosophical magazine, The Gurukulam as editor for twelve years and continues to be one of its chief contributors. The author of many works, his publications in English include Basic Lessons on India’s Wisdom, Karma and Reincarnation, Vedanta Sutras of Narayana Guru and Commentaries on the Katha, Kena, Mundaka, Prashna, Taittiriya,Chandogya and Aitareya Upanishads.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Shorter Philosophical Poems of Narayana Guru
Format Softcover
Date published: 01.01.2010
Edition 1st ed.
Publisher D K Printworld
Language: English
isbn 8124605157, 9788124605158
length vii+320p., Glossary; Index; 22cm.