Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


Documents on the North-East of India (In 11 Volumes)

O P Ralhan (Editor)
Synopsis In the North-East of India there are seven states called seven sisters namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura. To the north of Assam lies the Union Territory of Arunachal Pradesh, the land of the Rising Sun. Modern history of Arunachal Pradesh, begins with the inception of British rule in Assam after the treaty of Yandaboo concluded on 24 February 1826. Assam was known as Pragijotisha or the place of eastern astronomy during the epic period and later named as Kamrupa. The earliest epigraphic reference to the kingdom of Kamrupa is found in the Allahabad pillar inscription of King Samudragupta. Kamrupa is mentioned as Pratyanta or frontier state outside the Gupta empire but with friendly and subordinates relation to it. Manipur was an ancient kingdom. It is mentioned in the mahabharata. Manipur attained full-fledged state-hood on 21 January 1972, with this a Legislative Assembly consisting of 60 elected members was stablished. South of Assam is one of the most visited tourists states of India, Meghalaya, the abode of clouds. Formerly part of Assam, it was created as a separate state in 1972, comprising the hilly regions which are very foggy in winter. It is inhabited by three major tribal groups, the Garos in the west, the Khasis in the centre and the Jaintias in the east before the British came to assam, the region had tiny city kingdoms ruled by Rajas which were annexed one by one by the British in the 19th century. Mizoram is a mountainous region which became the 23rd state of the Indian Union in February 1987. With the mplementation of the North-Eastern Reorganisation Act in 1972, Mizoram became a Union Territory and as a sequel to the signing of the historic memorandum of settlements between the Government of India and the Mizo National Front in 1986, it was granted statehood on 20th February 1987. Nagaland the 16th state of the Indian Union, was established on 1st, December 1963. It is bounded by Myanmar on the East, Arunachal on the North, Assam on the West and Manipur on the South. Tripura, a former princely state of India, joined the Indian Union after independence in 1949 and became a state of the Union in 1972. The population, mostly of Tibeto-Burmese origin, took up Vaishnava Hinduism very early in its history and the state was continuously ruled by Hindu Maharajas till independence.
Read more
600.30 540.27 $ 667.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Documents on the North-East of India (In 11 Volumes)
Author O P Ralhan
Format Hardcover
Date published: 11.04.2009
Edition 1st ed.
Publisher Sarup & Sons
Language: English
isbn 8176258951
length 23cm.