Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Delivery Worldwide on orders over $50


Jayaprakash Narayan: Selected Works: Volume 8 (1960-1966)

Bimal Prasad (Editor)
Synopsis Jayaprakash Narayan (1902-79) was one of the most prominent leaders and thinkers that India has produced in modern times. Although he never sought power for himself, he played a major role not only in the struggle for Independence, but also in the Socialist and Sarvodaya movements and finally in the movement for strengthening democracy, popularly known as the J.P. movement. Thos series of volumes has been planned with a view to presenting as comprehensive a picture as possible of the evolution of J.P.'s political life and thought through his writings, speeches and letters. As he was in many ways a mirror of his times, it is hoped that the series will also provides glimpses of the main currents of ideas and movements during the times in which he lived and worked. The present volume covers the period May 1960 to January 1966. Among the contents the most notable is Swaraj for the People published in 1961. Here J.P. stresses the need for strengthening the institutions of Panchayati Raj by endowing them with financial autonomy and real powers of governance in areas within their jurisdictions. Further, J.P. also wants to give them a role in electing members of the Provincial Assemblies and Parliament, a major step, according to him, in moving from a parliamentary to a participatory democracy. The volume also contains numerous speeches, statements and letters to the then Prime Ministers, Jawaharlal Nehru and Lal Bahadur Shastri, on various problems facing the country, like Kashmir, Nagaland, controversy on the issue of official language and recurrence of Hindu-Muslim riots. The volume also contains several statements and speeches by J.P. on India-China discord which finally culminated in the Chinese invasion of 1962. 
Read more
67.50 60.75 $ 75.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Bimal Prasad

Professor Bimal Prasad, formerly Professor of South Asian Studies and Dean, School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University (New Delhi) and India’s Ambassador to Nepal, is at present Honorary Director, Rajendra Prasad Academy and Honorary Fellow, Nehru Memorial Museum & Library (both in New Delhi). Before joining the School of International Studies, Professor Prasad was Research Fellow at the Columbia University (New York) and Professor of History, Patna University. In later years he was Senior Fellow at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London and Visiting Professor at the University of Leeds. Professor Prasad has authored and edited several books relating to Modern Indian History and Foreign Policy. His latest work, Pathway to India’s Partition, is a trilogy of which two volumes have already been published: The Foundations of Muslim Nationalism (New Delhi, 1999) and A Nation within a Nation (New Delhi, 2000). A close associate of J.P., Professor Prasad has earlier edited three single-volume selections of his writings: Socialism, Sarvodaya and Democracy (Bombay, 1964), A Revolutionary’s Quest (New Delhi, 1980) and Jayaprakash Narayan: Essential Writings, 1929-79 (New Delhi, 2002). Besides, he has authored Gandhi, Nehru and J.P. : Studies in Leadership (New Delhi, 1985) and Jayaprakash Narayan: Quest and Legacy (New Delhi, 1992).

Read more
Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Jayaprakash Narayan: Selected Works: Volume 8 (1960-1966)
Author Bimal Prasad
Format Hardcover
Date published: 23.08.2007
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 8173047200
length xxxiv+760p., Figures; Appendix; Index; 26cm.