Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


The Protest is Still on

Ashok Mitra (Author)
Synopsis The Protest Is Still On is a selection of articles from Ashok Mitra's Column, 'Cutting Corners', which appeared in the Telegraph over a period of more than two decades between 1982 and 2006. When issues concerning the development of the Indian economy in the context of globalization are generating such intense interest, we expect this collection will add a significant dimension to the on-going discussion.
25.20 22.68 $ 28.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 2-4 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Ashok Mitra

Ashok Mitra has had a fabulous academic career, including a brilliant Ph.D. under Jan Tinbergen, and he has held important offices in the economic administration of India; he was Chairman of the Agricultural Prices Commission and Chief Economic Adviser to the Government of India. He has taught in some of the premier institutions in India; and academic work took him to many places of higher learning all over the world. But throughout these years, his deep commitment to the cause of the people had found constant expression in overt and covert political action and in a stream of stimulating writing, both learned and popular, in English as well as Bangla. The long stint as Minister of Finance in the Left Front Government of West Bengal from 1977 onwards was, in fact, a culmination and a beginning for a man of enormous intellectual and political energy. He was also a Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) for a time. His involvement in Leftist politics is still as active as ever and his writing has continued, as this book demonstrates. Dr. Mitra and his wife Gauri live in Kolkata.

Read more
Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title The Protest is Still on
Author Ashok Mitra
Format Hardcover
Date published: 28.06.2007
Edition 1st ed.
Publisher Emancipation
Language: English
isbn 8190344323
length 256p.