Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Delivery Worldwide on orders over $50


Essence of Maharishi Patanjali's Ashtang Yoga

J.M. Mehta (Author)
Synopsis This book mainly deals with Ashtang Yoga founded by Maharishi Patanjali, the author of Yoga Darsan or Yoga Sutra. In the present day world, Yoga is being propagated and breathing exercises (Asana and Pranayam). But Asthang Yoga is much more than that. It is a comprehensive yogic discipline which includes physical, mental and spiritual aspects. Besides, treating the subject of Yoga in general manner, the book briefly explain the eight parts of the ancient yogic discipline, which consists of Yamas and Niyamas (moral and social conduct), Asana (physical postires), Pranayam (regulation of breath), Pratyahara (withdrawal of senses) and Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi (inner yogic discipline). 'Ashtang' means eight limbs or parts, hence the name, Ashtang Yoga. The emphasis of this Yoga is on the inner and intangible discipline which leads to the perfection or liberation of the soul.
Read more
15.30 13.77 $ 17.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

J.M. Mehta

The author of this book is a post graduate in English literature and a topper in B.Ed examination from the Punjab University. After a brief service in the Punjab Education Department, he was selected for the Indian Foreign Service (IFS). He held various responsible assignments both at the headquarters and abroad including postings in U.K., Russia, Kenya, Vietnam and the Philippines. The author after retiring from the Ministry of External Affairs in 1993, has been devoting much of his time in reading and writing.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Essence of Maharishi Patanjali's Ashtang Yoga
Author J.M. Mehta
Format Softcover
Date published: 26.04.2006
Edition 1st ed.
Publisher Pustak Mahal
Language: English
isbn 8122309216
length 88p., 20cm.