Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


The Eight Nayikas

Ananda K Coomaraswamy (Author)

Contents: 1. Introduction. 2. Rasikapriya chapter VII, text and translation. 3. Other poets. 4. Other conditions of the nayika Index.


"Indian writers have long been interested in the classification of heroes and heroines in well-defined types. Such classifications are typically developed in Sanskrit treatises such as Natyasastra, the Sahitya-Darpana, and Kama Sutra and in other works and later in vernacular literature of Hindustan, chiefly in Rasikapriya, Satsaiya, and the Bhasa-bhusana." 

Read more
29.70 26.73 $ 33.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Ananda K Coomaraswamy

Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy, the greatest among the Indian art-historians, was born in Colombo on August 22, 1877. After graduating from the University of London he became the director of the Mineralogical Survey of Ceylon. Between 1906 and 1917, when he joined as the Curator of Indian Art in the Boston Museum he was busy lecturing on Indian art and formed societies for the study of Indian art. In 1938, he became the chairman of National Committee for India’s Freedom. His contributions on Indian philosophy, religion, art and iconography, painting and literature are of the greatest importance as were his contributions on music, science and Islamic art. He died on September 9, 1947.

Write a review
Reviews in total

Bibliographic information

Title The Eight Nayikas
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.2000
Edition Reprint
Language: English
isbn 9788121504799
length 46p., Plates; Illustrations; 25cm.