Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Delivery Worldwide on orders over $50


Indian Political Thought

Hari Hara Das (Author)
Synopsis In this volume an attempts has been made to discuss and analyse the principal concepts and ideas of twenty-four Political Thinkers and Social Reformers, who significantly influenced the ethos of political life and the political process in India. It traces the evolution of political thought from the days of Manu, the law-giver, Kautilya, the statesman-author of Arthasastra and Sukracharya, the author of Sukranitisara to those of Jaya Prakash narayan, the exponent of democratic socialism and the theory of ‘Totao Revolution’. It highlights the institutions and political traditions which influenced the fundamental ethos of political life in the country and laid the foundations of our modern parliamentary system of government. Among the twenty-four thinkers selectively included in this volume, are cultural leaders like Swamin Dayananda and Swami Vivekananda, who represent the Indian response to the nationalistic, utilitarian and liberal challenge of the West. The Moderate and Extemist thinkers discussed in detail are Dadabhai Naoroji, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Lala Lajpat Rai and Aurobindo Ghosh, Gandhiji’s thoughts provided a contrast to the thoughts of both the Moderates and the Extremists. His concepts of non-violence and Satyagraha were indigenous and unique in style and operation. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Jawaharlal Nehru and subhas Chandra Bose, the three most dynamic leaders, who had both fundamental similarities and dissimilarities, are examined and analysed in the context of their contributions to the Indian political process. The socio-political concept of Dr. B.R. ambedkar, the reformist-thinker, have been analysed. While M.N. Roy represents the leftist ideology of communism and rational-humanism, V.D. Savarkar’s ideas stand for spiritual nationalism and Hindu revivalism. In the context of the national movement and the Oriya movement the significant contribution of Madhusudan Das, Gopabandhu Das and K.C. Gajapati have been analysed.
Read more
40.50 36.45 $ 45.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Hari Hara Das

Prof. (Dr.) Hari Hara Das is an eminent and distinguished teacher of Political Science, who has made significant contributions to the enrichment of the discipline by the profundity of his thoughts and writings. He retired as a Professor of Political Science, Berhampur University, Orissa in 1998, but even after his superannuation, he is actively engaged in writing books and scholarly pursuits. About fifteen teachers and scholars have been awarded Ph.D. under his guidance and supervision. He had a distinguished academic career and was awarded the 'Merli Curtis Gold Medal' by the Lucknow University in 1960. He is a prominent Oriya Shortly Story writer and Novelist and has authored about twenty books. He is also a highly prolific writer in Political Science and his notable works are: India: Democratic Government and Politics, Indian Government and Politics, Political System of India, Analytical Study of Political Science, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, History of Freedom Movement in India, International Law and Comparative Politics. He has also co-authored several books, viz., Introduction to Political Sociology, Political Theory: Traditional and Modern Theory, Centre-State Relations in India and Parliamentary Privileges in India. He worked in the Max Planck Institute, Munich, Germany as a Visiting Professor. He worked in collaboration with Prof. Klaus Gottstein, the Director of the Institute and prepared a Research Report o 'Science and Technology in Developing Societies'. He had the opportunity to visit several universities in Germany an the USA and delivered lectures and participated in various deliberations and seminars.

Read more
Write a review
Reviews 0in total

Bibliographic information

Title Indian Political Thought
Author Hari Hara Das
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.2005
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 8180180514
length xviii+433p., Bibliography; Index; 23cm.