Logo

0
Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Delivery Worldwide on orders over $50

Х

The Method of Early Advaita Vedanta

 
Michael Comans (Author)
Synopsis This is a unique work discussing the teachings of four of the great Advaita Acaryas: Gaudapada, Sarikara, and his two disciples, Suresvara and Padmapada. The first three chapters are concerned with the teachings of Gaudapada. These chapters refer to most of the verses of the Gaudapadakarika and one chapter specifically deals with the influence of Mahayana Buddhism on the thought of Gaudapada. The following three chapters discuss the teachings of Sarikara. Two topics in particular are given extensive treatment: Sarikara’s understanding of the nature of God (Isvara), and the way Sarikara views the role of the sruti in leading to liberation. The writings of recent scholars, such as Paul Hacker, are examined in the context of various topics. The final two chapters are devoted to an explication of the teachings of Sarikara’s two best known disciples, Suresvara and Padmapada. The author combines close textual scholarship with the perspective of one is a teacher (Acarya) within the tradition of Advaita., This work will prove useful both for the student who wishes to obtain clear and detailed information about these four Acaryas, and it will also be of value to one who is seeking to develop their own spirituality within the Advaita tradition.
Read more
24.30 21.87 $ 27.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
BECOME A MEMBER
About the author

Michael Comans

Michael Comans (M.A. Ph.D.) began a serious study of Advaita Vedanta as a resident student of Swami Dayananda Saraswati, one of the great teachers of present day India. After returning to Australia he studied for his doctorate under the guidance of the renowned Indologist, Professor J.W. de Jong, at the Australian National University. He also had the opportunity to study from Senior Pandit Srinivasa Shastri of Deccan College, Pune, and Dr. R. Krishnamurti Shastri of Madras Sanskrit College. Dr. Comans taught at the University of Sydney for a number of years. He now spends his time both in Sydney, where he teaches Vedanta and Sanskrit, and in India.

Write a review
Reviews 0in total
 

Bibliographic information

Title The Method of Early Advaita Vedanta
Format Hardcover
Date published: 01.01.2000
Edition 1st ed.
Language: English
isbn 8120817222
length xxiv+492p., Tables; Bibliography; Index; 22cm