Your cart is empty empty bag

Free Worldwide Delivery on orders over $50


Vaisnavism Through the Ages

Rabindra Kumar Siddhantashastree (Author)

This important study presents a comprehensive and critical survey of Vaisnava-Bhakti movements through the ages; its vedic origin, medieval evolution and modern trends in India. The learned author acquaints readers with numerous hidden, symbolic meanings behind anthropomorphic form of Vishnu, his incarnations, Radha, devotee, methods of worship and the siddhis a devotee secures through Bhakti-yoga.

It brings into light the philosophies of Ramanuja (Visistadavaitavada), Vallabha (Suddhadvaitavada), Nimbarka (Dvaitadvaitavada), Namadeva, Tukaram, Kabir, Chaitanyadeva, Tulsidasa, Mirabai, Sankaradeva, Mahadeva and his successors. This monotheistic research on Vishnu is based on ancient Sanskrit scriptures and throws a search light on obscure, hidden, symbolic, philosophical, psychological and historical meanings behind Vedic and Puranic stories and legends.

Read more
40.50 36.45 $ 45.00 $
Free delivery Wolrdwidе in 10-18 days Ships in 1-2 days from New Delhi Membership for 1 Year $35.00
Get it now and save 10%
Members SAVE 10% every day
About the author

Rabindra Kumar Siddhantashastree

Late Shri Rabindra Kumar Siddhantashastree (1911-1983) had all along an extraordinary brilliant academic career. Besides being a Premchand Roychand scholar (Calcutta, 1955) he is a holder of five Tirtha and seven Shastree titles and was lecturer in the department of Ancient Indian History and Culture, Calcutta University before his sad demise He is an author of a number of valuable and thought-provoking books which will keep his name alive in the world of scholars of Indian religions. His contributions to human knowledge are Saivism Through the Ages (1975} History of Pre-Kaliyuga India (1978).

Write a review
Reviews in total

Bibliographic information

Title Vaisnavism Through the Ages
Format Hardcover
Date published: 31.12.1985
Edition 1st. ed.
Language: English
length 208p., 150 x 190 mm